Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Stories With Pictures: Part 2

Below are some graphic novels and illustrated books recommended by Hannah Trierweiler Hudson. She promises that even the reluctant reader will be drawn to these books. Recommendations 6-10 are:

6. The Power of Cute: My Very First Graphic Novel by Charise Mericle Harper. $10.99. Introduce little ones to the world of graphic novels with this colorful tale of a superhero baby who wields the power of cute. Grades PreK-1.

7. The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man by Michael Chabon, illustrated by Jake Parker. $17.99. The first picture book from Pulitzer Prize winner Chabon lets readers in on the fact that even superheroes have secrets. Grades PreK-3.

8. Stickman Odyssey by Christopher Ford. $12.99. What if the entire story of The Odyssey was told in bored-student-style stickman doodles? That's the premise of this laugh-out-loud take on Greek mythology. Grades 6-8.

9. The Popularity Papers: Book Three by Amy Ignatow. $15.95. BFFs Julie and Lydia are reunited in the third volume of this cartoon-inspired series perfect for fans of Marissa Moss's Amelia books. Grades 3-6.

10. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente, illustrated by Ana Juan. $16.99. Your readers won't want to come home from Fairyland . Grade 6 and up.


About This Blog

This weblog seeks primarily to be a resource to parents and their children facilitating, "Empowerment & Personal Responsibility through Education."

This weblog is an extension of BestEducationPossible-theCommunity an online community dedicated to Parents and their efforts to empower their children through Education.

How to get the Best Education Possible for Your Child

How to get the Best Education Possible for Your Child
Click Picture to Buy It Now!

Blogger templates made by AllBlogTools.com

Back to TOP