Friday, May 6, 2011

Teaching A Moths Life Stages

According to the stages of a moth are easy to teach to your child. The moth's life stages is a simple lesson on the four stages. This is a great site for teaching science, but you must subscribe to receive the lessons.  The lesson includes questions, quizzes, and printable worksheets.  Below is a sample lesson:

A moth's life has four stages -- egg, larva, pupa and adult.

All insects begin life as an egg. When the egg of a moth hatches, the young looks very different from the adult. It looks like a very small worm with short legs. It is called a caterpillar or larva.

The larva does nothing but eat. It grows bigger and bigger until it reaches its full size. Then it enters the third stage called the pupa.

Sometimes a caterpillar spins a silk covering around itself for protection during the pupa stage. This covering is called a cocoon. When a caterpillar is in the pupa stage, a great change takes place. The worm like caterpillar turns in to an adult moth with four large wings and six long legs. Even the mouth parts are different. The caterpillar had strong jaws for chewing leaves. But the adult has mouth parts that coil up under its head like a spring. It can extend these mouth parts into flowers to sip up the nectar.

After mating, a female moth lays eggs and life cycle of the moth continues.


About This Blog

This weblog seeks primarily to be a resource to parents and their children facilitating, "Empowerment & Personal Responsibility through Education."

This weblog is an extension of BestEducationPossible-theCommunity an online community dedicated to Parents and their efforts to empower their children through Education.

How to get the Best Education Possible for Your Child

How to get the Best Education Possible for Your Child
Click Picture to Buy It Now!

Blogger templates made by

Back to TOP